SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) today reminded small, nonfarm businesses in 162 Texas counties and neighboring counties in New Mexico and Oklahoma have until September 15, 2014, to apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL).  These loans are to offset economic losses because of reduced revenues to farmers and ranchers caused by drought that began November 1, 2013, in the following primary counties, announced Tanya N. Garfield, Director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center - West.

Primary Texas counties:

Andrews, Aransas, Archer, Bailey, Bandera, Baylor, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burnet, Cameron, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman , Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Dimmit, Ector, Edwards, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Frio, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Goliad, Hale, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hidalgo, Hockley, Hutchinson, Jack, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Jones, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox, La Salle, Lamb, Lampasas, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, McCulloch, Medina, Midland, Mills, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Nueces, Ochiltree, Oldham, Palo Pinto, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Real, Refugio, Runnels, San Patricio, San Saba, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Terrell, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wichita, Wilbarger, Willacy, Yoakum, Young, Zavala

Neighboring Texas counties:  

Armstrong, Atascosa, Bastrop, Bell, Borden, Brewster, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Comal, Comanche, Coryell

Crane, Crockett, DeWitt, Donley, Duval, Eastland, Erath, Glasscock, Gray, Guadalupe, Hall, Hamilton, Hays, Hood, Howard, Irion, Karnes, Kleberg, Lipscomb, Live Oak, Mason, Maverick, McMullen, Menard, Montague, Parker, Pecos, Reagan, Roberts, Schleicher, Sutton, Taylor, Upton, Victoria, Ward, Webb, Wheeler, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Zapata

Neighboring New Mexico counties: 

Curry, Lea, Quay, Roosevelt, Union

"SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster," Garfield said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

"Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.625% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship," Garfield said.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary's declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure Web site at

For owners of these impacted small businesses, disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling toll-free at (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339. For more information about SBA's disaster assistance programs, visit

The deadline to apply for these loans is September 15, 2014.