Gaines County's five municipal entities which have seats up for election in the approaching May 10 general elections process have reported no change with candidate filings, according to a Monday afternoon polling conducted by the Seminole Sentinel.

Filing for seats upon boards for the Seminole City Council, Seminole ISD Board of Trustees, Seminole Hospital District Board of Directors, Seagraves ISD Board of Trustees and Seagraves City Council will conclude this Friday afternoon (Feb. 28), at 5 p.m.

Local residents wishing to seek office to serve upon one of the entity boards must file their intentions with the respective governmental entity they wish to represent. Guidelines and rules for the filing process are available with each governmental entity's administrative offices.

A Look at the Filing Process

According to City Secretary Debbie Gressett on Monday afternoon, incumbent Seminole Mayor Wayne Mixon, as well as Council members  Freddy Jones, Kyle Sodd and Kenneth Newcomb had all filed for their respective seats.

Candidates wishing to seek a seat upon the Seminole City Council can file their intentions at Seminole City Hall, located at 302 S. Main St. prior to Friday's filing deadline.

According to officials with the Seminole Hospital District, all four SHD Board of Director seats up for consideration in the May 2014 process has seen their respective seat holders re-file this election process.

Those seat holders include Dairold Lambert of District 1, Tina Siemens of District 2, Ramon Mata, Sr. of District 3 and Blaine Nichols of District 4.

Candidates wishing to seek election to one of the SHD district seats must pick up a filing packet at the Seminole Hospital District's Administrative Offices, located inside the Memorial Hospital campus. Candidates must have 25 registered voter signatures from residents within their respective districts, in order to be placed on the ballot for consideration.

According to Cindy Therwhanger, Administrative Assistant to Seminole ISD Superintendent's Office, no new filings have been reported as of Monday afternoon.

Up for consideration in the 2014 municipal process are the Place 1 seat, currently held by incumbent seatholder Paula Kubicek, and Place 2, currently held by Ben Royston.

Royston, according to SISD officials, is the candidate to file for the Place 2 seat, while no filings have been reported for the Place 1 seat.

Candidates wishing to seek election on the Seminole ISD Board of Trustees can file their intentions with the SISD Superintendent's Office, located at the SISD Administration Building, 207 S.W. 6th St.

In Seagraves, three current members of the Seagraves City Council up for re-election this May have filed their intentions to seek another term in office.

According to Seagraves City Secretary Jackie Orum, District 3 Councilman Jorge Rodriguez, as well as Jeremy Nelson of District 4 and Russell Davis
of District 5 have filed their respective intentions as of Monday's poll.

One incumbent and one challenger have filed their respective intentions to seek election upon the Seagraves ISD Board of Trustees, according to school district officials Tuesday.

Tina Davis, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent of Seagraves ISD confirmed that District 5 incumbent trustee Wesley Rodgers had filed re-election intentions for the May 10 process, while Seagraves resident Francisco Casas had filed intentions to seek election to the Seagraves ISD District 4 seat, currently held by trustee Lisa Webb.

Early voting for the May 10 general election cycle will begin on Monday, April 28 and run each business day through Tuesday, May 6, according to state guidelines.

The last day to register to vote in the May election cycle, according to the Texas Secretary of State's office, is Thursday, April 10.